Penistone, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Penistone, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Penistone PLU|
|Parish registers: 1644|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
PENISTONE (St. John the Baptist), a market town and parish, in the union of Wortley, wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Denby, and the townships of Gunthwaite, Hunshelf, Ingbirchworth, Langsett, Oxspring, and Thurlestone, 5907 inhabitants, of whom 738 are in the township of Penistone, 8 miles (W. S. W.) from Barnsley, and 177 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Penistone exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|PENISTONE PARISH (1600) Online Records|
|| 1662, 1720-1721, 1782, 1801
|DENBY CHAPELRY (1651) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1644.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464274.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 01:17.
- This page has been accessed 3,247 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More