Pentrich, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pentrich, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Pentrich, Derbyshire
Pentrich St Matthew Derbyshire.jpg
Pentrich St Matthew Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Pentrich (St. Matthew), an ancient parish, in the union of Belper, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby; containing, with the chapelry of Ripley, and the hamlet of Butterley and Waingraves. At Ripley is a separate incumbency; and the parish contains places of worship for Independents, Methodists, and Unitarians. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pentrich parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Pentrich St Matthew (1621) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1653-1797 None 1638-1837 None 1638-1798 None
FS PR's
1621-1912 None 1645-1912 None 1637-1912 None

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1868 Mar 1663-1836 Burials 1663-1868 Missing Bap & Bur 1841,1853-1855, 1857-1863

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241294.


Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Pentrich on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 549-555. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,264 times.