Pershore Holy Cross, Worcestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pershore Holy Cross, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
PERSHORE, a market-town, and the head of a union, partly in the parish of St. Andrew, and partly in that of Holy Cross, Upper division of the hundred of Pershore, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 9 miles (S. E.) from Worcester, and 102 (N. W. by W.) from London. As to civil jurisdiction the parishes of St. Andrew and Holy Cross are distinct: that of St. Andrew embraces several chapelries. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Butler, E. L. My Grandparents. James Butler 1834-1912. Article is a history of James Butler and his descendants, of Pershore, Worcestershire, and includes the Pebworth Buttlers as well. Article covers years 1730/31-1912. Article is to be found in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol.X,no.2 August,1983, pages 56-59, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2015, at 13:16.
- This page has been accessed 964 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News