Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Peterbough(Cathedral), Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire|
|Hundred||Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Not Applicable|
|Parish registers: 1615|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1816|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Peterborough, parl. and mun. bor. and city, partly in Huntingdonshire, but chiefly in Northamptonshire, on river Nen, at NW. boundary of Cambridgeshire, 43 miles NE. of Northampton and 76 N. of London by rail - mun. Peterborough was called Medehamstede by the Saxons until 970, and had its rise in the founding of a monastery (656), destroyed by the Danes in 870, and afterwards rebuilt. Upon its destruction by fire in 1116 the present cathedral was commenced, but was not completed till early in the 16th century. The cathedral is a noble edifice, its west front being unsurpassed by any other in the kingdom. A thorough restoration of the building was commenced in 1884.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £|
|AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £ |
|Peterborough (Cathedral), Northamptonshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Peterborough St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Peterborough St Mark Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438883.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 18:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,450 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News