Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Peterborough St John the Baptist, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Peterborough
Registration District Peterborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Peterborough
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office


Parish History

PETERBOROUGH (St. John the Baptist), a city having separate jurisdiction, the seat of a diocese, and the head of a union and of the hundred of Nassaburgh, or liberty of Peterborough, in the N. division of the county of Northampton, 42 miles (N. E. by E.) from Northampton, and 79 (N. by W.) from London; containing, with the precinct of Minster-close, and exclusively of the chapelries of Dogsthorpe, Eastfield with Newark, and Longthorpe, in that part of the parish which is without the city. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and other Methodists. [1]

See also Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Cambridgeshire.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1825 1813-1825 1813-1825 1813-1825
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1878 1813-1878
FREG 1893-1896

View Anglican Church Records in FamilySearch Catalog.

Non Conformist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438883.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 May 2015, at 18:32.
  • This page has been accessed 2,247 times.