Petrus, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngOslo County Gotoarrow.pngPetrus

Guide to Petrus, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records


Church Records

Microfilm at the Family History Library contain parish registers from Peter's parish in Oslo city. Was established in 1877. Records are for 1880-1913.


Images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

History of the parish

The parish was established in 1880 as a result of the expansion of the city in 1877. The borders for the parish were from the city limits by Hovinveien along Sørligata, Jens Bjelkes gate, east of the Botanical Gardens, Trondheimsveien from the end of Lakkegata to Helgesens gate, Veksgata, Fagerheims gata, then north to the city limits.

On September 28, 1897 the borders were changed to follow Heibergs gate from the city limits, Tøyengata, Jens Bjelkes gate, Vahls gate, Herslebs gate to Schows plass, Toftes gate, Helgesens gate, Tegleverksgata, Berksgata, Fagerheimsgata, then north to the city limits.

The area nearest Tøyen Park was given to Tøyen chapelry in 1907. And a small area between Toftes gate and Kirkegårdsgata was taken to create Matteus parish in 1916, but this parish was discontinued again in 1938 and the area was divided among Petrus, Grønland and Jakob parishes.

In 1956 Lilleborg parish was created from parts of Petrus. Petrus changed its name to Sofienberg parish in 1962.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 May 2015, at 16:07.
  • This page has been accessed 630 times.