Pewsey, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pewsey, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pewsey|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
The village stands on a head-stream of the river Avon, near the Mid Wiltshire railway, 1 mile S of the Kennet and Avon canal, and 7 S S W of Marlborough.
The places of worship, in 1851, were Church of England, Baptists, Wesleyans, andPrimitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Pewsey, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Pewsey, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464198.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 564-567. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 22:21.
- This page has been accessed 2,197 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News