Pfäffikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Pfäffikon parish

Guide to Pfäffikon parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Pfäffikon

Aeusseres Zelgli
Arenenberg
Auslikon
Baumen
Berg
Boden
Bodenacker
Böndler
Brand
Bründler
Bussenhausen
Faichrüti
Feld
Freienstein
Freiweid
Freudenberg
Frohmatt
Frometzer

Geeren
Grosswies
Grund
Grüter
Güch
Heligeneich
Hermatswil
Hinter-Berg
Höchweid
Holzweid
Humbel
Irgenhausen
Landsberg
Lebern
Lirennagel
Loowies
Mittlerried
Neuhof

Ober-Balm
Ober-Rick
Ober-Sulzberg
Oberwil
Pfäffikon
Rappenäcker
Rappenholz
Ravensbühl
Rümbeli
Rutschberg
Schanz
Schnabel
Schnabel
Schöpli
Schür
Seiler
Sitzbühl

Sonnengrund
Steinacker
Steinmüri
Talhof
Unter-Balm
Unter-Landsberg
Unter-Pfaffberg
Unter-Rick
Unter-Sulzberg
Vorder-Berg
Waldfrieden
Wallikon
Weid
Weierholz
Widenwies
Wiesengrund
Zelgli

Surrounding Parishes

Bäretswil
Bauma
Fehraltorf
Hittnau
Russikon
Seegräben
Uster
Wetzikon
Wildberg

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Pfäffikon:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1633 1185176 1 137
1634 1185140 1 699
1637 1185142 1 289
1640 1185144 2 71
1643 1185146 2 273
1646 1185148 1 399
1650 1185150 2 523
1657 1185179 1 66
1663 1185179 2 299
1671 1185154 2 9
1678 1185158 1 81
1682 1185159 2 1
1689 1185163 2 457
1695 1185167 1 909
1707 1185170 1 841
1722 1185178 1 35

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Pfäffikon families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Pfäffikon belongs to the Pfäffikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Gemeindeverwaltung Pfäffikon
Hochstrasse 1
CH-8330 Pfäffikon

Tel: +41 44 952 52 52

email: gemeinde@pfaeffikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Pfäffikon prior to 1875:

Affeltranger
Bachmann
Bachofen
Bachofner
Baumann
Baumgartner
Bertschinger
Bietenholz
Bockhorn
Boller
Bosshard
Bosshart
Brunner
Bühler (1861, from
    Russikon)
Dietliker
Diggelmann
Dikelmann
Egli
Erni
Frei / Frey

Fridöri
Frohofer
Furrer
Gubler
Gujer
Gutbrod (1868, from
    Germany)
Güntert
Günthart
Hämig
Hanhard
Hartmann
Häusser
Hess
Heusser
Hirzel
Hürlimann
Isler
Jucker
Kaufmann

Keller
Krebs
Kuhn
Kündig
Lenz
Linsi
Manz
Mesmer (1867, from
    Germany)
Messikomer
Mock
Moos
Muggler
Müller
Ott
Pfenninger (1854, from
    Bäretswil)
Pfister
Raths (1819, from
    Wetzikon)

Rüegg
Rütsch
Schellenberg
Scheltorfer
Schneider
Schnurrenberger
Schoch
Sprecher
Stahel
Strehler
Stucki
Stutz
Tobler
Trachsler
Vollenweiler
von Tobel
Vontobel
Weber
Zimmermann
Zollinger

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 22:27.
  • This page has been accessed 446 times.