Philippines GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Philippines Websites)

Asia Gotoarrow.png Philippines

Guide to Philippines ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Topics


Flag of the Philippines
Philippines coat of arms
Location of the Philippines in South East Asia

Location

The Philippines is a sovereign island country in Southeast Asia situated in the western Pacific Ocean. It consists of 7,107 islands, north and East of Indonesia.

Its location on the Pacific Ring of Fire and close to the equator makes the Philippines prone to earthquakes and typhoons, but also endows it with abundant natural resources and some of the world's greatest biodiversity

Typhoon season is primarily during the months of June through October. Most of these sweep in from the Eastern Pacific, with wind speeds up to 200 KM. per hour.

The Philippines also has a number of active volcanoes, and is regularly having many areas evacuated due to the volcanoes erupting. The most recent occurrence that affected large areas of the country was that of Mount Pinatubo, in June of 1991. Large areas of the Island of Luzon were covered by Lahar (the local name for dust from the volcano) to a depth of 3 - 4 meters.

HISTORY

Ifugao rice terrraces.jpg
The metatarsal of the Callao Man, reliably dated by uranium-series dating to 67,000 years ago[18] replaced the Tabon Man of Palawan, carbon-dated to around 24,000 years ago,[19][20] as the oldest human remains found in the archipelago.

The modern era of the Philippines started with the coming of Ferdinand Magellan in 1521 and marked the beginning of Spanish colonization. In 1543, Spanish explorer Ruy López de Villalobos named the archipelago Las Islas Filipinas in honor of Philip II of Spain.

More recently, aside from the period of Japanese occupation, the United States retained sovereignty over the islands until 1945. After World War II, the Philippines was recognized as an independent nation. Since then, the Philippines has often had a tumultuous experience with democracy, which includes the overthrow of a dictatorship by a nonviolent revolution.

RELIGION

Largely as a result of the Spanish colonization, most of the Philippines converted to the Roman Catholic religion. Today the country is the largest Christian enclave in Asia, with more than 90% of the population at least declaring a Christian bias.

The southern island of Mindanao is the one exception as it is overwhelmingly Muslim. There have been numerous uprisings and terrorist activities in the past 30 years, and it is by far the least democratic of the Philippines' many provinces.

One of the greatest benefits of the European conquests was that a degree of record keeping was followed. Beginning in the late 1500s, the Spaniards took various censuses known as vecindarios (local censuses), padrón de almas (head census), or estado de almas (people status). The latter two were religious censuses conducted by parish clergy. Read more...


Philippines Jurisdictions

The following map provides the locations of the many provinces in the Philippines, many of which have their own language:

Batanes ProvinceCagayan ProvinceIsabela ProvinceAurora ProvinceQuezon ProvinceCamarines Norte ProvinceCamarines Sur ProvinceCatanduanes ProvinceAlbay ProvinceMasbate ProvinceBiliran ProvinceSorsogon ProvinceNorthern Samar ProvinceSamar ProvinceEastern Samar ProvinceLeyte ProvinceSouthern Leyte ProvinceDinagat Islands ProvinceSurigao del Norte ProvinceSurigao del Sur ProvinceAgusan del NorteAgusan del Sur ProvinceDavao Oriental ProvinceCompostela Valley ProvinceDavao del Norte ProvinceDavao del Sur ProvinceSarangani ProvinceSouth Cotabato ProvinceSultan Kudarat ProvinceMaguindanao ProvinceLanao del Sur ProvinceLanao del Norte ProvinceMisamis Occidental ProvinceZamboanga del Norte ProvinceZamboanga del Sur ProvinceZamboanga Sibugay ProvinceBasilan ProvinceSulu ProvinceTawi-Tawi ProvinceMalaysiaPalawan ProvinceCotabato ProvinceBukidnon ProvinceMisamis Oriental ProvinceCamiguin ProvinceSiquijor ProvinceBohol ProvinceCebu ProvinceNegros Oriental ProvinceNegros Occidental ProvinceGuimaras ProvinceIloilo ProvinceCapiz ProvinceAntique ProvinceAklan ProvinceRomblon ProvinceOccidental Mindoro ProvinceOriental Mindoro ProvinceMarinduque ProvinceBatangas ProvinceCavite ProvinceManilaLaguna ProvinceRizal ProvinceBulacan ProvinceBataan ProvinceZambales ProvincePampanga ProvinceTarlac ProvinceNueva Ecija ProvincePangasinan ProvinceNueva Vizcaya ProvinceQuirino ProvinceLa Union ProvinceBenguet ProvinceIfugao ProvinceMountain ProvinceKalinga ProvinceIlocos Sur ProvinceAbra ProvinceApayao ProvinceIlocos Norte ProvinceSultan Kudarat ProvinceSarangani ProvinceDavao del Sur ProvinceDavao Oriental ProvinceSurigao del Sur ProvinceSurigao del Norte ProvinceEastern Samar ProvinceNorthern Samar ProvinceCatanduanes ProvinceSorsogon ProvinceCamarines Norte ProvinceAurora ProvinceBiliran ProvinceRomblon ProvinceCagayan ProvinceIlocos Norte ProvinceIlocos Sur ProvinceLa Union ProvinceZambales ProvinceBataan ProvinceCavite ProvinceBatangas ProvinceMarinduque ProvinceAntique ProvinceGuimaras ProvinceNegros Occidental ProvinceSiquijor ProvinceCamiguin ProvinceMisamis Oriental ProvinceMisamis Occidental ProvinceLanao del Norte ProvinceMaguindanao ProvinceZamboanga del SurBasilan ProvinceTawi-Tawi ProvinceZamboanga del Norte ProvinceOccidental Mindoro ProvinceOriental Mindoro ProvincePangasinan ProvinceBatanes ProvinceAlbay ProvincePhilippinesprovinces.jpg
About this image


NATIONAL RECORDS

In general, the Philippines has kept much better records than many of its neighbors. There is a national archive that is available for tracking Filipino families. It follows:

Philippines National Record Archives

Finding a grave is difficult: The following may help:

Finding Philippine graves

RESEARCH TOOLS

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

OTHER WEBSITES


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 July 2015, at 00:02.
  • This page has been accessed 73,317 times.