Phillips County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Phillips County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Phillips County

Guide to Phillips County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Phillips County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Phillips County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 26, 1867
County Seat Phillipsburg
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Phillips County Courthouse
301 State Street
Phillipsburg, Kansas 67661
Phone: 785.543.6825


Contents

County Courthouse

Phillips County Courthouse
;301 State Street
Phillipsburg, KS 67661
Phone: 785.543.5513

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records
City Clerk has death and burial records.
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records.
County Clerk has land records. [1]

History

Parent County

1867--Phillips County was created 26 February 1867 from unorganized territory. County seat: Phillipsburg [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

  • Kirwin
  • Logan
  • Long Island
  • Phillipsburg
  • Prairie View

Neighboring Counties

Ksphillips.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Agra, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

History of Stuttgart, Kansas

Local histories are available for Phillips County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.

http://www.phillipscountyreview.com/stuttgart/stuttgart_history.html

Maps

Military

  • Phillips County was not organized until after the Civil War.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Phillips County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Phillips and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Kirwin City Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central. The library may have cataloged unique items related to genealogy and local history, in addition to published works for this area.

Logan Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central. The library may have cataloged unique items related to genealogy and local history, in addition to published works for this area.

Phillipsburg City Library: Library holdings can be searched in Pathfinder Central. The library may have cataloged unique items related to genealogy and local history, in addition to published works for this area.

Long Island Community Library and Sunshine Library, Prairie View, will be available on Pathfinder Central later in 2010.

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Phillips County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 March 2015, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,130 times.