Piatt County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Piatt County

Guide to Piatt County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Piatt County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Piatt County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 27, 1841
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Piatt County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Piatt County Courthouse
101 West Washington Street
Monticello, Illinois 61856
(217) 762-9487
Piatt County Website

Contents

Piatt County Organization

Piatt County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Piatt County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1841
1877
1850
1840
1843


County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Piatt County are kept, see the Piatt County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

The county as named for James A. Piatt, Sr. who settled in the area of the present county in 1829. Jesse Warner also was instrumental in helping to form the county and the county was named for James after winning a coin flip against Jesse Warner.[1]

Parent County

  • 1841--Piatt County was created 27 January 1841 from DeWitt and Macon Counties. County seat: Monticello [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1839-1841 DeWitt

1831-1841 Macon

1831-1839 McLean

1827-1831 Shelby

1821-1827 Fayette

1819-1821 Clark

1816-1819 Crawford

1815-1816 Edwards

1812-1815 Madison

1801-1812 St. Clair

1790-1801 Knox, Northwest Territory

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Records and Resources

Biography

The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Piatt County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Piatt County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Portrait and Biographical Album of Dewitt and Piatt Counties, Illinois 1891   (Internet Archive)

Piatt County Biographies Bibliography   (WorldCat)

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190017,706
191016,376−7.5%
192015,714−4.0%
193015,588−0.8%
194014,659−6.0%
195013,970−4.7%
196014,9607.1%
197015,5093.7%
198016,5816.9%
199015,548−6.2%
200016,3655.3%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Piatt County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1841-1911 Circuit Court Record - IRAD-ISU

1854-1878 Circuit Court Dockets - IRAD-ISU

1859-1878 Circuit Court Default Judgement Record - IRAD-ISU

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

1841-1918 Deed Index -IRAD-ISU

1840-1931 Deed Records -IRAD-ISU

18861-1874 Chattel Mortgage Records -IRAD-ISU

1865-1891 Mortgage Record - IRAD-ISU

Available at the Family History Library

1835-1854 Book of Taxable Lands and Patentees. Illinois Auditor's Office. FHL Collection Item 3

1841-1954 Deeds, Piatt County (Illinois) Recorder. FHL film 987233 first film of 46 microfilm. indexes included.

1859-1942 Sheriff's Certificate Sale record and Sheriff's deed record, 1868-1912. FHL film 988092

Maps

Ilpiatt.jpg

Military Records

For information about using Military records see Illinois Military Records

War of 1812

Military Land Grants in Piatt County Illinois for Soldiers of the War of 1812 - USGenWeg

Civil War


Civil War service men from Piatt County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Piatt County.

Cavalry

- 2nd Regiment, Illinois CavalryCompany F

Infantry

- 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C
- 73rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D [[|]]
- 107th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C, Company E,

Company H, and Company K

- 116th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A
- 144th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D


1860-1864 Enlisted Men in the Civil War. Piatt County Clerk. FHL film 988102 Items 2-8

1861 Soldiers' Enlistment. Piatt County Recorder FHL 988102 Item 1

Civil War Discharges, Piatt County Historical and Genealogical Society. FHL book 977.3673 M2ci

Civil War Veterans, Piatt County: an Information guide. By Dorothy Dowdle.FHL book 977.3673 M2c

1865-1920 Soldiers' Discharges. Piatt County Recorder. Includes index. FHL film 988102 Item 9


1883 List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883   (Internet Archive)

World War I

World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918  Piatt County  (Ancestry)

World War II

Army Casualties   (U.S. National Archives and Record Administration)

Naturalization

Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.

The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Illinois State University (ISU) - search for Piatt County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1858-1872 Naturalization Record, Circuit Court - IRAD-ISU

1864-1880 Naturalization Record Final, Circuit Court - IRAD-ISU

1864-1880 Naturalization Record Final, County Court - IRAD-ISU

1864-1888 Naturalization Record of Soldiers and Minors, Couty Court - IRAD-ISU

1870-1880 Naturalization Record of Minors, Circuit Court - IRAD-ISU

1888-1901 Naturaliation of Minors, County Court - IRAD-ISU

Naturalization Records availiable at the Family History Library

1858-1884 Naturalization Records. Circuit Court. FHL film 988112

1862-1906 Naturalization Records, Circuit Court. FHL film 988112 Items 2-4 and Item 6

Newspapers

Newspapers Published in Piatt County     (Illinois Newspaper Project)

Chronicling America        (Library of Congress)

Piatt County Republican and Piatt Independent. FHL film 225799 First film of 24.

Poorhouse

Almshouse Register FHL film 1598490 item 11 and FHL book: 977.3673 P3w

Probate Records

Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at theIllinois State University (ISU) - search for Piatt County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the ISU IRAD Wiki page.

1843-1901 Probate Record - IRAD-ISU

1850-1961 Probate Will Record - IRAD-ISY

1859-1915 Probate Guardian's Record - IRAD-ISU

1861-1869 Probate Inventory, Appraisement and Sale Record - IRAD-ISU

1869-1905 Probate Inventory Record - IRAD-ISU

Probate Records Availiable at the Family History Library

1843-1887 Probate Record. Piatt County Court FHL film 988103 first film of 7

1850-1918 Will Record. Piatt County Court. FHL films 988110 and 988111

Online Probate Records - at FamilySearch

1850-1918 Illinois Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Illinois State University houses the records for Piatt County.

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Piatt County are kept, see the Piatt County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Piatt County.

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

FamilySearch Centers (Family History Library)

Archives and Libraries

Public Libraries of Piatt County

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

Illinois State Universtiy (ISU)
2016 Warehouse Road Campus
Box 1520
Normal, Illinois 61802
Phone: 1-309-452-6027

Illinois Regional Archives Depository System - Local Governmental Records Listings Arranged by County

Public Libraries

Social Groups Online

Societies

Piatt County Historical and Ggenealogical Society

Taxation

1835-1854 Taxable Lands Lists - IRAD-ISU

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Order Birth and Death Certificates Online

Birth

1863-1936 Birth Certificates, Delayed IRAD-ISU

1877-1916 Birth Record IRAD -ISU

1877-1974 Birth Record Index IRAD-ISU

Available at the Family History Library

1877-1931 Birth Records. Piatt County Clerk. FHL 988094-988095 Includes index. Book: 977.3673 V22i

Marriage

Available at the Family History Library

1841-1971 Marriage Register. Piatt County Clerk FHL 988101

1878-1938 Marriage Records. Piatt County Clerk. FHL film 988100

1841-1874 Piatt County Marriage Records. by Betty Varner and Linda Redmond.FHL fiche 6088847 FHL Book 977.3 A1 no. 236

1841-1853 Piatt County, Illinois Marriage and Cemetery Records (at Ancestry)

Death

1877-1915 Death Records, Piatt County County Clerk. FHL film 988098 and 988099 Includes index.

1841-1853 Piatt County, Illinois Marriage and Cemetery Records, 1841-1853. at Ancestry

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Web Sites

Databases Pertinent to Piatt County
Local Governmental Records Database
Name Index to Illinois Local Governments
Illinois Statewide Marriage Index
Illinois Statewide Death Index, 1916–1950
Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
Federal Township Plats of Illinois

References

  1. Piatt County, Illinois, www.wikipedia.org
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 March 2014, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 4,649 times.