Pike County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pike County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pike County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 9, 1822|
|Address|| Pike County Courthouse]|
PO Box 377
Zebulon, GA 30295-0377
Pike County Website
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Pike County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Regiments. Service men in Pike County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County, Georgia:
- - 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company A
- - 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- - 27th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- - 28th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- - 44th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, Book A, 1823-1829 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Book B, 1829-1844 Georgia Pioneers
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
- 1840-1872 - Pike County Marriage Index 1840-1872. Batch M713511 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1873-1883 - Pike County Marriage Index 1873-1883. Batch M713512 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1883-1900 - Pike County Marriage Books A and B Index 1883-1900. Batch M713513 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1883-1900 - Pike County Marriage Books A and B Index 1883-1900. Batch M734972 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1883-1900 - Pike County Marriage Books A and B Index 1883-1900. Batch M735538 at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Pike County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 12 February 2014, at 04:48.
- This page has been accessed 4,320 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More