Pillerton Hersey with Pillerton Priors, Warwickshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pillerton Hersey, Warwickshire)

England Gotoarrow.pngWarwickshireGotoarrow.pngWarwickshire Parishes

Pillerton Hersey with Pillerton Priors, Warwickshire
Pillerton Hersey St Mary the Virgin.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour PLU
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for Pillerton Priors beginning 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; Separate records exist for Pillerton Priors beginning 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PILLERTON-HERSEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Kineton division of the hundred of Kineton, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Kineton. The living is a vicarage, with that of Pillerton-Priors annexed.[1]

Additional information:

Famed topographer Samuel A. Lewis provides a unique 19th Century historical perspective for this parish--which was united to Pillerton Priors St Mary Magdalene Parish by 1848:

PILLERTON-HERSEY (St. Mary; parish registers commence 1539), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Kineton division of the hundred of Kineton, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Kineton; containing 217 inhabitants. The parish comprises 1389 acres, and is situated to the west of the lofty range called Edge-Hill, of historical celebrity. This [parish was annexed with] Pillerton-Priors Parish.[2]

Pillerton-Hersey with Pillerton Priors are parishes in Shipston-on-Stour district, Warwickshire; they are adjacent to the Fosse way. Pillerton-Hersey is 3 miles S W of Kineton while Pillerton Priors is 4 miles S W of Kineton. There is a Wesleyan chapel that was built in 1861 in Pillerton-Priors.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pillerton Priors and Hersey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[4][5]
Pillerton Priors and Hersey Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Butlers Marston and Pillerton Priors parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Butlers Marston and Pillerton Priors Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464172.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed: 12 December 2012.
  3. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
  4. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  5. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 2,326 times.