Pinxton, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pinxton, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Pinxton, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pinxton, Derbyshire
Pinxton St Helen Derbyshire.jpg
Pinxton St Helen Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office


Parish History

Pinxton, St Helena, is an Ancient Parish in the Bolsover District of Derbyshire. Part of the parish boundary forms the eastern boundary of Derbyshire with neighbouring Kirkby in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire and Selston with Underwood and Westwood, Nottinghamshire.There is a place of worship for Wesleyans[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district and subsequent transfer to  Basford registration district Apply for certificates to:

The Register Office
Highbury Road
Phone 0115 927 1294
Fax 0115 977 1845

Church records

Pinxton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Pinxton St Helena (1561) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1562-1912

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1868 Mar 1673-1856 Burials 1673-1868

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Family History Library  film numbers in their collection Pinxton

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.

See Derbyshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Pinxton on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 571-573. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2015, at 13:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,147 times.