Pitt County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Pitt County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Pitt County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Pitt County Courthouse
W 3rd St P O Box 35
Greenville, NC 27835
Courthouse burned in 1857
Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
Marriage records from 1866 and land records from 1762
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1885
Pitt was formed in 1760 from Beaufort County. The act was to become effective January 1, 1761. It was named for William Pitt the Elder, who was then Secretary of State for the Southern Department and Leader of the House of Commons. William Pitt was an English statesman and orator, born in London, England. He studied at Oxford University and in 1731, Pitt joined the army. Pitt led the young "Patriot" Whigs and in 1756 became secretary of state, where he was a pro-freedom speaker in British Colonial government. Pitt County is in the eastern part of North Carolina and is surrounded by Beaufort, Craven, Edgecombe, Greene, Lenoir, Martin, and Wilson counties. Courts were first held at the home of John Hardy until a courthouse could be built. The courthouse was built on Hardy's land near Hardy's Chapel. In 1771 Martinsboro was established, and in 1774 the courthouse was moved there. In 1787 Martinsboro's name was changed to Greenville, which is still the county seat.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1857--Courthouse fire destroyed most of the court records. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Brownhill Cemetery, Greenville
- Reedy Branch FWB Church Cemetery, Winterville ('FWB' = Free Will Baptist)
- St. John's Cemetery, Grifton
- Short Family Cemetery, Pactolus
- White Oak MB Church Cemetery, Grimesland
For tips on accessing Pitt County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Flat Swamp. Constituted 1776.
- Red Bank. Constituted 1758.
- Whitfield's Meeting House. Established by 1789.
Following are a listing of transcribed Court Records for Pitt County:
A listing of Pitt County Records available at the North Carolina State Archives
Pitt County Register of Deeds
100 West Third Street
PO Box 35
Greenville, NC 27858-1806
Telephone: (252) 902-1650
This office records land documents including deeds, deeds of trust, subdivision maps, leases, easements, assignments, agreements, deeds of trust cancellations, corporate documents, assumed names, and files Uniform Commercial Code financing statements on personal property. This office also serves as the custodian of certificates of births and deaths occurring in the County, issues marriage licenses, and certifies birth, death, and marriage certificates in the County. Veterans' military discharge records and notary public commissions are also kept here, and this office administers the oath to all notaries public. Recording fees and fees for certificates are charged.
A number of Deeds have been transcribed; click onto the Pitt County, NC Archives to view these records.
- Emily Loftin Collection
- Simpson-Bryan Collection
- Historic Places in Pitt County- included in National Register of Historical Places
- Pitt County Biographies
- Pitt County Townships
- 1895 Pitt County
- 1770 John Collett Map
- Formation of North Carolina Counties Map
- Pitt County from NC Digital Maps Collection
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Pitt County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
Civil War Confederate units
Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.
- -8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company C
:- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company H
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
The Clerk of Superior Court is elected for four years and must be a resident of the county in which he or she is elected. Unlike clerks of court in other states, the Clerk of Superior Court in North Carolina has numerous judicial functions.
As judge of probate, the Clerk has exclusive original jurisdiction over matters relating to the probate of wills, and the administration of estates, including appointing personal representatives, auditing their accounting, and removing them from office if necessary. The Clerk also presides over many other legal matters including adoptions, incompetency proceedings, condemnation of private lands for public use, and foreclosures. The Clerk is responsible for all clerical and record-keeping functions of the district and superior court. In addition, the Clerk receives and disburses money collected each year from court fees and fines.
Pitt County Courthouse
100 W Third St
Greenville, NC 27835
PO Box 6067
Greenville, NC 27835
Clerk of the Superior Court
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Pitt County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1858-1963 - Will Books 1 to 12 (1858-1963) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
A number of Wills and Estate Records have been transcribed, they can be viewed at the Pitt County, NC USGenWeb Archives
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1871-1956 - Pitt County Birth Index 1871-1956. Batch C752340 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851-1867 - Pitt County Marriage Register, 1851-1867 at East Carolina University - free.
- 1866-1961 - Pitt County Marriage Index 1866-1961 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1969North Carolina County Marriages 1762-1969 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- East Carolina University: 1923-1979
- Pitt County students from NC colleges - via the NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
Societies and Libraries
Pitt County Historical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 1554
Greenville, NC 27835-1554
Pitt County Historical Society, Inc website
Pitt County Family Researchers
P.O. Box 20339
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Pitt County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- NCGenWeb: Pitt County - part of the USGenWeb Project
- Pitt County at Our Family Tree
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pitt County, North Carolina. Page 512 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488, 490. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990
- ↑ "Flat Swamp Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at St Paul's Seminary website.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- ↑ 7.0 7.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2015, at 22:43.
- This page has been accessed 14,826 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News