Plaistow St Mary, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Plaistow St Mary, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Plaistow, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plaistow St Mary, Essex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Becontree
County Essex
Poor Law Union West Ham
Registration District West Ham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1830
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barking
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

Plaistow, is a village, a chapelry, and a ward, in West Ham parish, Essex. The village is 1½ miles S S E of Stratford, and 6¼ miles E by N of St. Paul's, London; the post-office under London East. There are chapels for Independents and Quakers.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plaistow St Mary, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
Plaistow St Mary, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1830-1872 (gaps)

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office Plaistow St Mary See also other churches in the Plaistow area

St Mary's Rd
Baptisms 1830-1968
Marriages 1845-1977
Burials 1830-1972: ERO
Baptisms 1968- date
Marriages 1977- date: Not deposited

St Andrew
Barking Rd
Baptisms 1870-1968
Marriages 1872-1974: ERO

St Katharine
Chapman Rd
Built 1891
Demolished 1965

St Martin
Boundary Rd
Baptisms 1898-1901
and all Marriages
with St Andrew
Baptisms 1901-1911: 1914-1943 ERO

St Philip (and St James)
Whitwell Rd
Baptisms 1903-1972
Marriages 1974-1983: ERO
Burials allotted area at:
The East London Cemetery
Baptisms 1972- date
Marriages 1983- date: Not deposited

Congregational Chapel
Baptisms 1833-1837: PRO

Independent Chapel
Swanscombe St
Baptisms 1860-1882: LMA

Methodist Chapel
Pelly Rd/Harold Rd/High St
Baptisms 1897-1947: NEW

Wesleyan Methodist Chapel
High St
Marriages 1899-1940: ERO

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241361.

Poor Law Unions

West Ham Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Plaistow St Mary on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 19 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 16:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,259 times.