Plumtree, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Plumtree, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Plumtree St Mary the Virgin Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham PLU|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
PLUMTREE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bingham, partly in the S. division of the wapentake of Bingham, and partly in the N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. The church, which is principally in the Norman style, was repewed in the year 1818. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Plumtree St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which included Normanton on the Wolds and Clipsby within its boundary.
Southwell and Nottingham Church history project history of the church Plumtree St Mary the Virgin
The parish Church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Plumtree St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PLUMTREE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1558-1902 Marriages 1558-1952 Burials 1558-1901 Bishop’s Transcripts 1602-1862
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Plumtree
Plumtree - St Mary's. Transcription of the Stone Cross outside the church for W.W.1 and 2. giving surname, given name, and the Battalion they belonged to. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, page 60, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Plumtree ore Plumtre in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Plumtree/index.html
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 04 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 20 March 2015, at 00:51.
- This page has been accessed 1,500 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More