Plungar, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Plungar, Leicestershire)

England Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Plungar, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Plungar, Leicestershire
Plungar St Helen, Leicestershire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Bingham
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office


Parish History

PLUNGAR (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Bingham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 6 miles (S. E.) from Bingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438741.

See Leicestershire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed: 21 August 2012.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 June 2015, at 20:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,264 times.