Polk County, North Carolina GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Polk County, North Carolina)

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Polk County

Guide to Polk County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records

Polk County, North Carolina
Map of North Carolina highlighting Polk County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Founded 1855
County Seat Columbus
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Polk Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Polk County Courthouse
P O Box 308
Columbus, NC 28722
Phone: 828-894-8450

Clerk superior Court has divorce records from1932
probate and court records from from 1872
Register of Deeds has marriage and land records [1]

Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 308
Columbus, NC 28722
Phone: 828-894-8450
Fax: 828-894-5781

Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 38
Columbus, NC 28722
Phone: (828) 894-4900


Parent County

1855--Polk County was from Henderson and Rutherford Counties.
County seat: Columbus [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties





For tips on accessing Polk County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.




Local Histories



Early migration routes to and from Polk County for European settlers included:[3]


Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
:- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C




Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Polk County, North Carolina. Page 512 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 September 2015, at 17:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,418 times.