Pontrhydfendigaid, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigion Gotoarrow.pngPontrhydfendigaid

A guide to genealogy in Pontrhydfendigaid, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Pontrhydfendigaid is a village in Ceredigion, Wales. The village is in the ecclesiastical parish of Gwnnws.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Near to the village are the ruins of the Cistercian Strata Florida Abbey, which was founded in 1164.

Contents

History

For further information on Pontrhydfendigaid see Genuki - Gwnnws

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464303.

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 May 2013, at 10:59.
  • This page has been accessed 272 times.