Poole Keynes, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pool Keynes, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Poole Keynes, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Poole Keynes, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cirencester PLU
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

POOLE-KEYNES (St. Michael), a parish in the district of Cirencester and hundred of Malmesbury and Kingswood in the county of Wiltshire. It is adjacent to the Swindon and Gloucester railway and to the river Thames, 1½ mile S S E of Kemble-Junction railway station. It is 5 (S .S .W) of Cirencester.[1] [2][3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Poole Keynes, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[4][5][6][7]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
Poole Keynes, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1753 1632-1753 1632-1812 1632-1812
NIM
1605-1837

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 586-593. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Pollack - Pooley', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 586-593. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  6. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  7. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  8. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 10:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,518 times.