Portage County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Portage County, Wisconsin)

Guide to Portage County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Portage County


{{{link}}}


Portage County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1842
County Seat Stevens Point
Courthouse
Address Portage County Courthouse
Stevens Point, WI 54481
Portage County
WI Portage.png

Contents

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Portage County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown, Crawford, Iowa andMilwaukee Counties.
County seat: Stevens Point [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams  • Marathon  • Shawano  • Waupaca  • Waushara  • Wood

WI PORTAGE.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Guyant Collection of Tombstone Inscriptions is on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This collection includes tombstone inscriptions copied between 1970 and 1981 by Wayne and Alta Guyant in cemeteries in seventeen Wisconsin counties, and clipped newspaper obituaries and other related items. The records represent every known cemetery in Florence, Langlade, Portage, Waupaca, and Waushara counties and many in Adams, Barron, Forest, Green Lake, Juneau, Lincoln, Marquette, Oneida, Outagamie, Shawano, Winnebago, and Wood counties.

Portage County Cemetery Index

Forest Cemetery Records

Union Cemetery Records

Portage County Cemeteries with Surname index. USGenWeb Archives

Census

State Census
  • 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 Wisconsin State Census Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 Wisconsin State Census Index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church History and Records

Information about local churches (history and records) can be found on the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society's website.

Lutheran
  • Records of Peace Lutheran Church, Amherst, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

The surviving early probate files have been indexed and are on the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society's website.  Also indexed are the Circuit Court Criminal Case Files Index 1849-1919 and the Circuit Court Civil Case Files Defendant Index 1845-1919

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Ethnic Communities of Portage County

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Portage County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Portage County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company B
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company H
- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Companies D and F
- 7th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company G
- 14th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B
World War I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Naturalization Records for Portage County have been indexed and the index is available on the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society's website.

Newspapers

A complete listing of all Portage County newspapers can be found on the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society's website.

Obituaries

The Portage County Obituary Index is now a part of the Central Wisconsin Genealogy Index . Full text obituaries from The Wisconsin Pinery (1853-1890) and The Plover Times (1866-1881) can be found on the Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society's website. These are not indexed in the Obituary Index.

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Probate Index

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Nelis R. Kampanga University Archives

Portage County Public Library

List of genealogical resources available at the Portage County Public Library

County Courthouse

The Portage County Courthouse is located at 1516 Church Street, Stevens Point, WI 54481.  The Register of Deeds office, which houses birth, death, and marriage records, as well as land records is open for genealogical research during the following days and times:

Monday - Thursday, 9:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. Closed for research on Fridays and from 11:30 - 1:00.

Family History Centers
  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Societies

Portage County Historical Society
PO Box 672
Stevens Point WI 54481
Phone: 715-344-5752
Website

Stevens Point Area Genealogical Society
1001 Main
Stevens Point, WI 54481
website

Almond Historical Society
319 County A
Almond, WI 54900
Phone: 715-366-7341
website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 February 2016, at 02:09.
  • This page has been accessed 11,632 times.