Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

POORSTOCK, a village and a parish in Beaminster district, Dorset. The village stands on an affluent of the river Brit, near the Brid port railway, 4 miles N E of Brid port. The parish includes the tythings of West Milton, Mappercombe, Nettlescombe, South Poorton, Witherston, and part of Loscombe.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1560
1560
1560
Images
1560-1839 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754, 1790
1813-1921
Ancestry[4] 1813-1899 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1568-1837 Joiner[6]
1651-1750 findmypast[7]

Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Powerstock with West Milton, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1568-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241337.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 24 June 2012.
  7. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,311 times.