Prescote, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Prescote, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Prescote, Oxfordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Banbury
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury PLU
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish records: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PRESCOTT, a hamlet, in the parish of Cropredy, union and hundred of Banbury, county of Oxford, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Banbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 605-609. Date accessed: 27 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 278 times.