Prestolee Holy Trinity, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Contents

History

Prestolee Holy Trinity was created as a chapelry in Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish.The chapelry was founded in 1862 and the parish in 1883.

Prestolee is surrounded almost completely by water and is effectively an island, with the River Irwell to the North, West and South, and the Manchester Bolton & Bury Canal to the Northeast. There is one road (Bridge Street) that provides vehicle access over the river Irwell. Prestolee Road also allows access to the village via a small canal bridge but the road is not metalled and not practical for most vehicles. Pedestrian access from the north is facilitated by using Prestolee Aqueduct, or the nearby Pack Horse Bridge.

It has a church (Holy Trinity) that was used by the TV show Coronation Street as a venue for many weddings and known to fans as All Saints Church, Weatherfield a fictional television location for the Lancastrian drama serial which is now over 50 years old.

Prestolee Holy Trinity contributor David Dixon.jpg


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Prestolee Holy Trinity, Lancashire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][1]
Prestolee Holy Trinity, Lancashire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1862-1906 1862-1906 1883-1930 1883-1930

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Parish registers for Prestolee, 1862-1942 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Prestolee was a chapelry in Prestwich parish. The chapelry became a parish in 1883. The church was known as Holy Trinity.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L 261.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1862-1906. Marriages, 1883-1920. Banns, 1883-1902.
VAULT BRITISH Film
2356364 Items 11 - 13
Banns, 1902-1942.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356365 Items 1 - 2

Known issues the initial loading of images for the parish in FamilySearch Historical Records has a technical issue which has been reported to our engineers and awaits resolution. until the image links are repaired the "image is currently unavailable message" will appear.

Prestolee- Holy Trinity
Banns-1883-1902- MFPR 2056
Banns-1902-1942- MFPR 2057
Baptisms-1862-1906- MFPR 2056
Marriages-1883-1920- MFPR 2056

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Census records

Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Poor Law Unions

Prestwich Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/prestolee-holy-trinity/ for information about the parish

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51222 British History Online

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 976 times.