Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The constituent parishes in the union included:
Alston see Longridge, Lancashire and Ribchester, Lancashire , Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew, Lancashire, Barton, Lancashire, Bretherton, Lancashire, Broughton, Lancashire, Catforth see St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire, Cuerdale se Walton le Dale, Lancashire , Dilworth see Longridge, Lancashire or Ribchester, Lancashire, Dutton see Ribchester, Lancashire, Elston see Preston St John, Lancashire or Grimsargh, Lancashire, Farington, Lancashire, Fishwick see Preston St John, Lancashire, Fulwood see Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire, Goosnargh, Lancashire, Grimsargh and Brockholes Grimsargh, Lancashire, Haighton , Hothersall see Ribchester, Lancashire, Hoole, Lancashire, ( Little & Much Hoole), Howick see Penwortham, Lancashire, Hutton see Penwortham, Lancashire; Lea , Ingol , and Cottam see Ashton upon Ribble St Andrew, Lancashire; Longton, Lancashire, Penwortham, Lancashire, Preston St John, Lancashire , Preston Christ Church, Lancashire, Preston Holy Trinity, Lancashire, Preston St George, Lancashire Preston St James, Lancashire Preston St Mary, Lancashire Preston St Paul, Lancashire Preston St Peter, Lancashire,Ribbleton , Ribchester, Lancashire, Samlesbury, Lancashire, Walton le Dale, Lancashire , Woodplumpton, Lancashire.
Later Addition: Whittingham see Goosnargh, Lancashire and Kirkham, Lancashire(from 1838).
This impressive building opened its doors for the first time in 1868. It is situated in Fulwood, an area to the north of Preston, Lancashire.
After the 2nd World War it changed its name to 'The Civic Hostel' and became a place for the destitute to stay overnight or until they could find other accommodation, and later a home for the elderly.
It closed for a while in 1979 and later became the Headquarters of the Regional Health Authority. It is now Preston Business Centre of the University of Central Lancashire.
The best-known workhouse records are the master's accounts. Some admission records survive, together with guardians' minute books and general ledgers. Those records that do exist can be found in the local record offices.
• Lancashire Record Office, Bow Lane, Preston, Lancashire, PR1 2RE. Holdings include Guardians' minutes (1838-1930); Workhouse births (1868-93); etc.
• The parish registers of Christ Church Fulwood contain many baptisms of children whose parents were inmates of the workhouse.
Billinge parish register transcripts, 1696-1812 : with list of Preston voters, 1688; Preston, Fishwick and Fulwood poor rates, 1736-1739; Trawden tithes, 1882; Preston and Leyland cemetery inscriptions
Transcript (handwritten). Norman, Bertram William Tuff , 1880-1959
Contents: v. 1. Births, 1696-1728; marriages, 1699-1725; burials, 1727-1760; births, 1760-1777 -- v. 2. Baptisms, 1727-1760; marriages, 1727-1761 -- v. 3. Marriages, 1760-1793 -- v. 4. Marriages, 1793-1796; births, 1804-1812 -- v. 5. Preston voters, 1688; Preston, Fishwick and Fulwood poor rates, 1736-1739; Trawden tithes, 1882; Preston and Leyland cemetery inscriptions; Bilinge baptisms, 1787-1804.
|Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1988. on 1 microfilm reel|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1559389 Items 9-13
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
See Felix Driver, Power and Pauperism: The Workhouse System, 1834-1864 (1993), M.E.Rose, The Relief of Poverty, 1834-1914 (1972), Jane M. Coleman, 'Guardians Minute Books', History, 48 (1963), P.Grey, 'Parish Workhouses and Poorhouses', The Local Historian, 10/2 (1972-3), and R.M.Gutchen, 'Paupers in Union Workhouses: Computer analysis of Admissions and Discharges', The Local Historian, 11/8 (1974-
Peter Higginbotham’s Workhouses site has detailed maps and images of the Preston area workhouses http://www.workhouses.org.uk/
- This page was last modified on 10 January 2016, at 02:28.
- This page has been accessed 3,341 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News