Preston next Faversham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  KentGotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Preston next Faversham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Preston next Faversham, Kent
Preston next Faversham St Catherine Kent.jpg
Preston next Faversham St Catherine Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham PLU
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Preston is a district of the town and civil parish of Faversham in the Swale district of Kent, seeFaversham Wikipedia and St Catherine's Church Preston-next-Faversham Wikipedia

Preston next Faversham St Catherine is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The church dates from the 12th century and the Norman church replaced a Saxon church on the site. The original Norman church remains were extended in the 13th century when John Peckham was Archbishop of Canterbur; further restoration and extension took place in later centuries notably the addition of the north aisle in 1867 and spire in the same year.A history of the church is also available at Church website

The church of St Catherine, St Catherine's Drive, Faversham has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 532-549 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

see also St Catherine on Faversham website

Do not confuse with Preston, Kent in the same county.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP


Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Preston next Faversham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Preston next Faversham, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1643 1559-1643 1559-1639 1559-1639 1559-1639 1559-1639

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Preston-next-Faversham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census return for Preston next Faversham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Faversham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

PRESTON (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union and hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, ½ a mile (S.) from Faversham, and on the high road from Canterbury to Rochester. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 19:41.
  • This page has been accessed 1,234 times.