Preston next Wingham, KentEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Preston next Wingham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Preston-next-Wingham is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Preston-next-Wingham Wikipedia
Preston next Wingham St Mildred is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary of Elmstone with Preston and Stourmouth parish is available at A church near you.
The church dates from the early 13th century and was extended in the fourteenth century; restored in 1857 by William White with the installation of dormer windows to replace and block the aisle windows.
The church is unusual in holding a parochial library dated from 1710 (Dr Bray's) "for the use of the Vicars of Preston". This is one of only 10 Parish libraries in the county and the only survivor in a parish.
See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Preston: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 131. Date accessed: 16 September 2013. at British History Online and The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 135-142 at British History Online and Kent Churches website
|This parish should not be confused with Preston next Faversham, Kent in the same county.|
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Preston next Wingham, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Preston next Wingham, Kent Parish Online Records|
Images for Preston next Wingham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
 to locate local Family History Centres in UK
 to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records) and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers
PRESTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Preston, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 2 miles (N.) from Wingham. 
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- ↑ 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 20 December 2013, at 22:27.
- This page has been accessed 1,154 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More