Prince Edward Island, Canada, Boundary Changes and MapsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki


Boundaries of counties in Prince Edward Island have changed very little over the years. Records may be arranged by county, town, or lot number.

What You Are Looking For

  • Information about boundary changes over the years.
  • Maps of various years which show the boundary changes or census districts.

The following will help you learn where to find records that may mention your ancestor.

Maps and gazetteers

The maps and gazetteers listed in the following table will help you learn about boundary changes and other information about places in Prince Edward Island over the years. Knowing the place can help you find records that may mention your ancestor.



Supplementary Index to Canadian Records: Vol. 3 Eastern Provinces. Salt Lake City, UT: Genealogical Library, 1985.

This has outline maps of townships and counties as of about 1960, and district maps for 1802, 1826, and 1838. It also has a map showing the 67 Lots and their boundaries. There is an alphabetical listing of townships, giving the county (as of 1960) and the original district that included each township.

Lovell, John, ed. Canadian Dominion Directory for 1871. Montreal: John Lovell, 1871.

This gives the township and county of each community as of 1871. This is important when searching census, land and property, local histories, and other records. The directory also lists about half of the heads of households living in each community.

Illustrated Atlas of the Dominion of Canada (H. Belden & Co., 1880).

Pages 72 to 73 contain an 1880 map of Prince Edward Island that may match the lot numbers used in censuses.

Electoral Atlas of the Dominion of Canada: As Divided in the Revision of the Voters' List Made in the Year 1894. Ontario: National Archives of Canada, 1998.

This atlas has maps showing the electoral districts and voting precincts of all provinces. These districts and precincts often match the census districts and subdistricts of the 1901 census.

Maps of Prince Edward Island.

Includes maps for 1607-1755 and for 1860. For more maps, see What to Do Next, and click on FamilySearch Catalog.

Gazetteer of Canada. Prince Edward Island. Ottawa, Ont.: Survey and Mapping Branch of Dept. of Energy, Mines, and Resources, 1973.

Gazetteer contains the names and locations of all populated places, rivers, lakes, and geographic features approved by the Canadian Board of Geographic Names.

McAlpine's Gazetteer of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. Halifax: Alpine Publishing Company, 1911

Geographical and historical data of provinces and cities including location of towns, villages, and hamlets, and barristers, hotels, express offices, and banks.

Rayburn, Allen. Geographical Names of Prince Edward Island. Ottawa, Ont.: Survey and Mapping Branch of Dept. of Energy, Mines, and Resources, 1973.

Includes map.

Hamilton, William B. Place Names of Atlantic Canada. Toronto, Ont.: University of Toronto, 1996.

Contains more than 2,000 place names of New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. Names are arranged alphabetically, and include the origin, meaning, and historical highlights.

Punch, Terence, ed. Genealogist's Handbook for Atlantic Canada Research. Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 1997.

Includes a section on census records and a historical overview of the province. It contains a county outline map and lists the counties with their creation dates and parent counties.

Schindler, Marc A. Administrative Atlas of Canada. Vol. 2: Eastern provinces (Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland).Gloucester, Ont.: Schindler-Spring Family Organization, 1988.

Maps of 1991 township, county, district, and other civil boundaries. A gazetteer of major towns which gives the township and county for each.

To find more sources that have maps or give information about places in Prince Edward Island, see What to Do Next, and click on FamilySearch Catalog.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 1,041 times.