Prussian PolandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Prussian Poland(Prusy Wschodnie)ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Effective family history research requires a knowledge of major historical events that may have affected your family and the records about them. Learning about wars, governments, laws, migrations and religious trends may help you understand political boundaries, and settlement patterns. These events may have led to the creation of records such as land and military documents that mention your family members. Your ancestors will become more interesting to you if you also use histories to learn about the events they may have participated in. Major events in the Prussian Poland localities include the partitions of Poland. In 1772 the first partition occurred in which Russia, Austria and Prussia each seized one-third of Polish territory. The second partition was in 1793 and at this time Russia obtained one-half of the remaining territory of Poland, and Prussia took Posen as a possession. The third partition was in 1795. Polish resistance was overwhelmed, and the remaining Polish territor was divided amoung Russia, Austria, and Prussia. The kingdom of Poland ceased to exist.
- Kartenmeister website Polish-German Place name finder
- Historical maps of Silesia
- Historical maps of Posen
- Ravensteins German Empire Map
Featured Content Facebook Pages
Because the Research forums are no longer available for help, be aware that FamilySearch has Facebook pages for these regions. There are two that you should consider when doing your research:
Here you can help others, post your questions and look for answers and helpful links, as well.
Things You Can Do
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 21:24.
- This page has been accessed 6,785 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More