Puerto Rico GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Puerto Rico)

United States go to Caribbean go to Puerto Rico

Guide to Puerto Rico Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Beginner's Corner
Topics
Find us on
Facebook

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community



Puerto Rico 06.jpg


See also FamilySearch Tutorials on Latin American Research.

Research Tools

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:

Jurisdictions

Puerto Rico is a territory of the US with commonwealth status. There are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 78 municipalities (municipios) at the second order.


  • Adjuntas
  • Aguada
  • Aguadilla
  • Aguas
  • Aibonito
  • Anasco
  • Arecibo
  • Arroyo
  • Barceloneta
  • Barranquitas
  • Bayamon
  • Cabo Rojo
  • Caguas
  • Camuy
  • Canovanas
  • Carolina
  • Catano
  • Cayey
  • Ceiba
  • Ciales
  • Cidra
  • Coamo
  • Comerio
  • Corozal
  • Culebra
  • Dorado
  • Fajardo
  • Florida
  • Guanica
  • Guayama
  • Guayanilla
  • Guaynabo
  • Gurabo
  • Hatillo
  • Hormigueros
  • Humacao
  • Isabela
  • Jayuya
  • Juana Diaz
  • Juncos
  • Lajas
  • Lares
  • Las Marias
  • Las Piedras
  • Loiza
  • Luquillo
  • Manati
  • Maricao
  • Maunabo
  • Mayaguez
  • Moca
  • Morovis
  • Naguabo
  • Naranjito
  • Orocovis
  • Patillas
  • Penuelas
  • Ponce
  • Quebradillas
  • Rincon
  • Rio Grande
  • Sabana Grande
  • Salinas
  • San German
  • San Juan
  • San Lorenzo
  • San Sebastian
  • Santa Isabel
  • Toa Alta
  • Toa Baja
  • Trujillo Alto
  • Utuado
  • Vega Alta
  • Vega Baja
  • Vieques
  • Villalba
  • Yabucoa
  • Yauco

Major Repositories

Websites

Puerto Rico flag.png

Did You Know?

  • 5,000 documents revealing court disputes in Puerto Rico are being scanned by the University of Connecticut's Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. The documents were acquired in 2000. Scanning began in June 2011 thanks to a $15,000 grant from the Center for Research Libraries. They plan to make all the documents available by May 2012. The documents date from 1844 forward and provide information about court disputes related to slaves, land and livestock.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 July 2015, at 12:44.
  • This page has been accessed 57,628 times.