Purdis Farm, Suffolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Purdis Farm, Suffolk)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Purdis Farm

Purdis Farm, Suffolk
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colneis
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Woodbridge PLU
Registration District Woodbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PURDIS, an extra'-parochial 'farm in Woodbridge district, Suffolk; 4¼ miles S E of Ipswich. [1]

Alnesbourn Priory and Purdies Farm form an extra-parochial district on the north side of Nacton, about 3 miles S.E. of Ipswich, and contain about 777A. of land, (belonging to Sir Philip Broke,) eight houses, and 39 inhabitants. This district is said to have had three churches, viz., Hallowtree, St. Petronille, and Bixley, but their sites are unknown. Alnesbourn Priory was a small house of Augustine monks, which was added as a cell to Woodbridge in 1452.....William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk, page 125-126 

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centers

Civil Registration

Purdis Farm is in Woodbridge district. To search an index of Woodbridge district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article says more about these records.

Church records

Purdis Farm did not have a parish church. It was part of the parish of Nacton. See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Purdis Farm from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Purdis Farm Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 May 2015, at 00:58.
  • This page has been accessed 837 times.