Purley, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Purley, Berkshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Gotoarrow.png  Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Purley, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Purley, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Theale
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Bradfield PLU
Registration District Bradfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662 (film only)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PURLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bradfield, hundred of Theale, county of Berks, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Reading.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Purley, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
PURLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK
Undefined
Undefined
BOYD
1662-1837

FREG
1662-1840

IGI 1663-1812 1662-1840
JOIN
1662-1835

PALL
1830-1840

TGEN
1662-1840

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241205.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Purley in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-621. Date accessed: 10 April 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Berkshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  6. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  8. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 19:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,540 times.