Purse Caundle, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Purse Caundle, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Purse Caundle, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Purse Caundle, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherborne
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Sherborne PLU
Registration District Sherborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CAUNDLE-PURSE, a parish in Sherborne district, Dorset; on the verge of the county, 1½ mile SE of Milborne-Port railway station, and 4¾ E of Sherborne.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Purse Caundle, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1730
1731
1731
Images
1710-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1730-1837 findmypast[6] 1731-1800 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1840 OnlineParishClerks
1730-1836 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1841 findmypast[7] 1814-1837 findmypast[8]
1731-1836 Joiner[9] 1814-1837 findmypast[10]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241341.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 09 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  9. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 12:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,202 times.