Purton, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Purton, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Purton, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Purton, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Highworth, Cricklade and Staple
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cricklade and Wootton Bassett PLU
Registration District Cricklade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1592
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cricklade
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PURTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cricklade and Wootton-Bassett, hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, Cricklade and N.divisions of Wiltshire, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Wootton Bassett. There are places of worship for Independents and Primitive Methodists.The village stands on an eminence near the Swindon and Gloucester railway, 1 mile W of the North Wiltshire canal, and 5 N W of Swindon; and has a station on the railway.[1] [2][3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Purton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[8]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[9]
PURTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1564-1842
1558-1837

FREG
1558-1781

IGI 1559-1837
JOIN
1558-1812

NIM 1558-1840
1558-1837
1558-1840
TGEN
1558-1812

FamilySearch  has  indexed the  pages from the Family History Library of the  Purton parishes.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-621. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Publow - Pusey', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 618-621. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  7. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  8. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,767 times.