Quarrington, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Quarrington, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Quarrington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Quarrington, Lincolnshire
Quarrington St Botolph Lincolnshire.jpg
Quarrington St Botolph Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office


Parish History

QUARRINGTON (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Ashwardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 1½ mile (S. W. by S.) from Sleaford.[1]

Additional Information:

Quarrington St Botolph is an Ancient Parish built of local Ancaster stone. The present church replaces the church mentioned in the Domesday survey and was restored in 1887.

There were two churches in this parish; that of Old Sleaford, Lincolnshire merged to form the Ecclesisatical parish after the demise of St Giles church in the seventeenth century. It was not until the 1888 reorganisation that the Old Sleaford portion was joined in the civil parish.

The parish registers contain Old Sleaford events from the 17th century onward.


Civil Registration

The parish was part of the Sleaford sub-district within Sleaford Registration district

The Kesteven County Asylum was built within this parish close to the boundary with South Raunceby part of North Rauceby with South Rauceby, Lincolnshire ecclesiastical parish. The Asylum opened at the end of the 19th century and closed in 1988.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Quarrington Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

This parish also incorporates the former ancient parish of Old Sleaford, Lincolnshire St Giles which fell into disuse and ruin. The mediaeval church of All Saints preceded St Giles. Quarrington became the parish for the combined parish area upon the demise of St Giles in the 17th century.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Quarrington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438758.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.




  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 May 2015, at 23:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,846 times.