Quarry Bank, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Quarry Bank, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Quarry Bank, Staffordshire
Quarry Bank Christ Church Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish records: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

QUARRY-BANK, a village and a chapelry in Kings-winford parish, Stafford. The village stands ½ a mile S E of Brierley-Hill r. station. The chapelry was constituted in 1844. There are chapels for Primitive Methodists and New Connexion and Methodists.[1]

Quarry Bank Christ Church was formed in 1844 from Kingswinford, Staffordshire and Brierley Hill, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

For earlier registers Kingswinford, Staffordshire

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1845-1980 Marr 1847-1973 Bur 1847-1969

New Churchyard Burials 1907-1972

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.

Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:52.
  • This page has been accessed 948 times.