Røldal, Rogaland, NorwayEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Norway > Rogaland County > Røldal

Contents

Church Records

Røldal parish belonged to the Suldal clerical district in Rogaland county. It was separated from Suldal clerical district in 1885. The earlier records were burned in 1778. It became part of Hordaland County in 1848.


Digital images for the parish registers for Røldal parish are available at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

Fogdernes og sorenskrivernes manntall 1664-1666 Sand Microfilm

This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

Manntall 1663-66 for Stavanger amt II Database

  • 1701 Census (Manntall)

Manntall 1701 Røldal Microfilm

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

  • 1801 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801 for Suldal Microfilm

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Suldal clerical district includes Suldal, Saude, and Røldalnow in Hordaland county parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Saledahl Database

  • 1865 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketælling 31 December 1865 for Røldal Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Røldal Database

  • 1875 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for kongeriket Norge den 31te desember 1875 for Røldal Microfilm

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information.

  • 1900 Census (Folketellingen)

Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900 for Røldal Microfilm

This census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish, and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Røldal Database

  • 1910 Census (Folketellingen]

[1] Countdown for the release of the 1910 census database.

Court Records

Land Records

Probate Records

For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `

Availability

Ryfylke og Karmsund judicial district
*1666-1795 Family History Library
*1666-1795 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1788 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke judicial district
*1786-1876 Family History Library
*1786-1876 Digitalarkivet

Ryfylke deanery
*1786-1807 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1786-1807 Digitalarkivet. .

For 1786-1848 the records are in the RyfylkeRogaland County judicial district.

1848-1881: Probate records are found in Hardanger og Voss judicial district.

The probate records usually contain the date of the probate, name of the deceased, names of heirs, guardians and trustees, inventory lists, land and holdings, and other miscellaneous information.

Farm Book

A history of Røldal in Hordaland county and a genealoy of the people and their farms.

Dalen, Knut and Dalen, Alma, "Røldal bygdebok," Røldal: Utgjeven av Røldal kommune, [1960]. 948.32/R1 H2d FHL INTL Book



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 December 2013, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 896 times.