Rüschlikon parish, Zürich, Switzerland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Rüschlikon parish

Guide to Rüschlikon parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Contents

Geography

History

Rüschlikon belonged to the parish of Kilchberg until 1713, when it became independent.

Place Names

Locations within Rüschlikon

Feldimoos
Ghei
Hinteres Längenmoos
Hügel

Loo
Rührets
Rüschlikon
Vorderes Längenmoos

Surrounding Parishes

Kilchberg
Küsnacht
Langnau am Albis
Thalwil

Collections

Church Records

Abegg
Ammann
Baumann
Bührer (1846, from Germany)
Egg (1872, from Wülflingen)
Fehr
Frei (1871, from Reigoldswil)
Gattiker
Hauser

Hitz (1872, from
    Langnau am Albis)
Hotz
Hüni
Kläger
Lang (1846, from Austria)
Leuthold
May
Obrist
Orell

Peter
Rellstab
Schneebeli (1867, from
    Ottenbach)
Schwarzenbach (from Thalwil)
Syfrig
Trümpler
Welti
Widmer
Wälli

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Rüschlikon was established as an independent parish in 1713. For census records prior to 1713, see Kilchberg.

The following censuses are available for Rüschlikon:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1729-1731 1185173 2 583
1743 1185173 2 609

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Rüschlikon families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Rüschlikon belongs to the Thalwil-Rüschlikon-Kilchberg civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstamdsamt Thalwil-Rüschlikon-Kilchberg
Alte Landstrasse 112
Postfach
CH - 8800 Thalwil

Tel: +41 44 723 22 28

email: zivilstandsamt@thalwil.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Rüschlikon prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 February 2015, at 18:15.
  • This page has been accessed 583 times.