Radbourne, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Radbourne, Derbyshire
Radbourne St Andrew Derbyshire.JPG
Radbourne St Andrew Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Radbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RADBOURN (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 4½ miles (W.) from Derby. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Shardlow district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Radbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Radbourne St Andrew (1571) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1571-1912
  NONE
1573-1912   NONE
1572-1912
  NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1679-1853 Mar 1679-1845 Burials 1679-1853


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 627-630. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 728 times.