Radway, WarwickshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Radway, Warwickshire
Radway Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kington
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Banbury PLU
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish records: 1605
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonleigh
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1837 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory); Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RADWAY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Banbury, Kington division of the hundred of Kington, S. division of the county of Warwick, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Kington. There is a place of worship for the Society of Friends.[1]

Additional information:

Radway St Peter.

It is famous for being the site of the Battle of Edgehill, one of the early major engagements of the English Civil War, which took place in the fields surrounding the village, and in the surrounding parishes of Ratley and Kineton. Radway's documented history dates back to medieval times, when its lands were divided between the Priory of Arbury and Stoneleigh Abbey.

Upon the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII during the 1530s, the lands were granted to various of Henry's circle, notably the Coke family. As the lands were sold over the following years, the manorial system broke down at Radway, allowing more freedom of thought, which eventually led to it becoming a centre of Puritanism in the 1650s and afterwards, following the Interregnum caused by the English Civil War. The persecution of these puritans (specifically Quakers) and the gaoling of some led eventually to a small group leaving these isles to Gloucester County, West New Jersey, where a quaker colony was being established in the 1680s. Letters from New Jersey still survive in the local record office.[1]
The Octagonal Tower

Radway was enclosed in the 1750s, leading to more modern agricultural techniques. During the 1800s, Radway became associated with the plush trade - the creation of velvet materials. Nowadays, Radway is a sleepy village inhabited in the main by suburbanites and visiting walkers climbing Edge Hill.

Its church dates back just over one hundred years, although the remains of an older church, dating to medieval times, are still visible. Inside the church maybe found the effigy of Captain Henry Kingsmill who fought for the King and died in the Edgehill battle. Many of the buildings in Radway date back several hundred years, and are very picturesque. "The Grange", originally an Elizabethan gentleman's house, but extensively re-modelled by Sanderson Miller in Gothic revival style, stands below the site of the original Stoneleigh Abbey grange and is still a private house. It was occupied by Douglas Haig before he became Commander in Chief in Flanders in World War I.

At the top of the ridge towards Ratley is the Octagonal Tower, a folly built by Sanderson Miller as a scale model of a tower at Warwick Castle. This building has been used as a pub since it was constructed, named in 1817 as the Inniskilling Dragoon, but now the Castle Inn. This is said to lie on the site of another grange complex, known as Ratley Grange, also owned by Stoneleigh Abbey

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 April 2014, at 16:11.
  • This page has been accessed 562 times.