Ragnall, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to: Ragnall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Ragnall St Leonard Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1700; For more records see Dunham|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1623|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Southwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
RAGNALL, a chapelry, in the parish of Dunham, union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¾ miles (E. N. E.) from Tuxford. The chapel is dedicated to St. Oswald.
Ragnall St Leonard was formed as a chapelry of Dunham, Nottinghamshire and included Whimpton Moor within the parish boundary which formed part of the county boundary with neighbours on the opposite bank of the River Trent Newton on Trent, Lincolnshire and North Clifton, Nottinghamshire The parish is in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire.
The parish church of St Leonard Ragnall Main Street has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Ragnall Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Ragnall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Ragnall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Ragnall St Leonard
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1700-1979 Marriages 1700-1968 Burials 1701-1979 Bishop's Transcripts 1623-1846
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ragnall
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438900.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 19:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,371 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News