Rains County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rains County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Rains County Courthouse
PO Box 187;
Emory, TX 75440-0187
County Clerk has birth records from 1902, divorce records
from 1903, marriage, divorce and land records from 1880
and probate records from 1894
Rains County's first courthouse was a log building. It was used until a two-room courthouse was built in 1871; this second courthouse burned in 1879. The log building was again used as a temporary courthouse until two-story building could be built in 1884. The 1884 courthouse burned in 1908. Rains County's current courthouse, shown at right, is the county's fourth Courthouse. It was built in 1908.
Rains County Courthouse
167 E. Quitman Street
P. O. Box 158
Emory, Texas 75440
The first Anglo-American arrived in the 1840's.
1879 - Rains County Courthouse, built in 1871, burned; All county records were destroyed.
1908 - Rains County Courthouse, built in 1884, burned. County records were save in a fireproof vault.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Alba | Dougherty | East Tawakoni | Emory | Point
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
- Emory Cemetery Association - Rains County TXGenWeb
- Civil War Marked Graves - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Military Tombstones - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Clifton Cemetery - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Colony Church of Christ Cemetery - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Deaton Cemetery - USGenWeb Archives Project
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Local histories are available for Rains County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Early Days in Texas and Rains County, 1917 by William Oscar Hebison and Ambrose Fitzgerald.
- 100th Anniversary of Rains County, 1970
- Rains County History from the Handbook of Texas Online
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
-  ~ TXGenWeb
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rains County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
- Texas, Probate Records, 1800-1990 (images) - FamilySearch
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Deaths and Burials, 1903-1973 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Footnote.com ($) has Texas Death Certificates 1890-1976 available online.
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 FamilySearch records
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
Societies and Libraries
These folks go to county courthouses, churches and other places where old documents and records are housed. They either scan the very old records with their oversized scanner or they transcribe those old documents and then publish them as books. Membership is $10.00/year if you have an email address and you get their Newsletter sent to you quarterly. Visit their web site for Publication Listings as well as membership information.
They also host several workshops during the year. Topics include: Beginning Researcher, Internet Research, Beginner Computer Help as well as Native American/Melungeon/African American Research.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Rains County - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Rains County TXGenWeb
- Betty's World Genealogical information on Betty's Families of Abney, Boxley, Bradberry, Breazeale, Brown, Carter, Middleton, Norman, Pickens, Phillips, Stone, Summers, Tinsley, Wade, Wills/Wells, and General Andrew Pickens.
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rains County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Rains county; PO Box 187; Emory, TX 75440-0187; Ph. 903.473.2461 Details: (Co Clk has b rec from 1902, d rec from 1903, m, div & land rec from 1880 & pro rec from 1894)
- This page was last modified on 7 May 2015, at 17:03.
- This page has been accessed 8,769 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News