Raithby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Raithby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Raithby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Raithby, Lincolnshire
Raithby-by-Spilsby Holy Trinity Lincolnshire.jpg
Raithby-by-Spilsby Holy Trinity Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Bolingbroke Soke
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolingbroke
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RAITHBY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Louth, Wold division of the hundred of Louth-Eske, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 2 miles (S. W.) from Louth with the hamlet of Maltby.[1]

Additional Information:

Raithby by Spilsby Ancient Parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity and included West Fen Allotment and Raithby West Fen. In December 1880 a detached part of this Parish was transferred to the new parish of West Fen.

This unassuming village played an important role in the spread of Methodism in Lincolnshire. It features one of the oldest Methodist chapels in England, and one of the few surviving chapels opened by John Wesley. Raithby Chapel was built in 1779 by Robert Carr Brackenbury, who also built Raithby Hall, adjacent to the chapel.

The 14th century cross in the churchyard is a scheduled monument and was restored in 1903.

Do not confuse this parish with Raithby with Hallington, Lincolnshire St Peter

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of Spilsby registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Raithby (Spilsby) Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Raithby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Raithby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,124 times.