Ramsbury with Axford, WiltshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ramsbury, Wiltshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes


Contents

Parish History

RAMSBURY, a village, a parish, and a hundred of Ramsbury, Marlborough and Ramsbury in Wiltshire. The village stands on the river Kennet, 4 miles N by W of Bedwyn railway station, and 5 W N W of Hungerford. The parish contains also the Tything of Axford, Eastridge, and Whittonditch, and the places called Park-Town, Madridge-Hill, Newtown, Elmdown, and Lamplands; and is in Hungerford district.There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1] [2] [3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ramsbury with Axford, Wiltshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Ramsbury with Axford, Wiltshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1678-1875 1678-1875
NIM 1800-1840
1597-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

 
  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Rame - Rapps', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:38.
  • This page has been accessed 641 times.