Ravenstone, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Part of this parish is in Derbyshire. See also Ravenstone, Derbyshire.
Guide to Ravenstone, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley; West Goscote|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch PLU|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1705|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
RAVENSTONE (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Ashby, partly in the hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, but chiefly in the hundred of West Goscote, county of Leicester. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ravenstone, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Ravenstone, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438745.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:21.
- This page has been accessed 948 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More