Red River County, Texas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Red River County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Red River County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||March 17, 1836|
Red River County Courthouse
200 North Walnut Street
Clarksville, TX 75426
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1845, probate and land records
from 1835; District Clerk has divorce and court records
200 N. Walnut
400 N. Walnut
Red River County has had five courthouses.  The fifth and current courthouse was built in 1885.
1836--Red River County was created 17 March 1836 from an Old Mexican Municipality. LaGrange (now called Madras) was named temporary county seat in 1837, until Clarksville was selected as the county seat in 1838.  County seat:Clarksville 
See an interactive map of Red River County border changes.
Places / Localities
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Annona | Avery | Bagwell | Bogata | Clarksville | Detroit | Deport (mostly in Lamar County) | English | Maple
- Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1870(images) - FamilySearch
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Red River County Cemetery Index ~ photos and transcriptions ~ TXGenWeb
- Red River County Cemetery Photographs ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Burials, Cemetery and Death Records for Red River County, Texas, by Lawrence and Sue Dale.
- Index to burials in Red River County, Texas, by Lawrence and Sue Dale, has names, birth date and death date and cemetery where buried. Available from the authors
- Index to Cemeteries in Red River County, Texas, by Lawrence and Sue Dale, contains all 216 known cemeteries in the county and other names that they are known as, directions to get to them, GPS coordinates, total known burials in each, legal descriptions. Available from the authors
- Tombstone Transcription Project ~ Partial transcription of cemetery tombstones ~ USGenWeb
- Texas Historic Cemeteries ~ Partial indexes to historic cemeteries
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Texas Escapes Listing of Texas cemeteries with transcriptions and lots of pictures.
- 1850 Census
- 1860 Census
- 1870 Census
- 1880 Census
- 1900 Census
- 1930 Census Index
- 1890 Union Veterans Census
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Red River County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Gateway to Texas, History of Red River County, by Martha Sue Stroud. Available from the author
- Bible Records of Red River County, Texas Genealogical Members, Volume * Bible Records of the following families: Meyer, Lee, Turk, Myers, McCain, Low, Jones, McCuiston, Hall, Johnson, Pinson, Young, Strawn, Turner, Rose, Seale, Smith, Claiborne, Williams, Dyers, Strange, Benton and Hufford. Available from the Red River County Texas Genealogical Society
- Reflections of Red River County 1830's-1890 by Marion Butts. Available from the Red River Co Genealogy Society
- Red River County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- Biographies ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Red River County Published Sources ~ TXGenWeb
- Texas Museums ~ List of all museums in Texas ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Red River County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Red River County Map ~ TXGenWeb
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1838 - 1900 Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
- Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Texas, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 - FamilySearch
- Confederate Pension Applications ~ Texas State Library and Archives Commission
- Civil War Dead buried in Red River County, Texas, by Lawrence and Sue Dale. Contains all notes from cemetery records, 374 individuals, most without formal Civil War markers. Available from the authors
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Red River County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- River+county+Texas+Newspapers&qt=results_page WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Red River County, Texas Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Home Town News - Texas Newspaper Index with links
- Newslink - Texas Newspaper List (sorted by publication frequency)
- The Olden Times - Historic Texas News Online.
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News from 1925 that may include residents from Red River County.
- Red River County Obituaries ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records 1800-2000 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records 1800-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1838 Tax List ~ TXGenWeb
- Index to Wills Book A ~ TXGenWeb
- Index to Wills Book B ~ TXGenWeb
- Search Tax, Criminal, Land and Wills Records ~ Ancestry.com (subscription)
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index)- FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 - Hidden Ancestors
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 - FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch record collection
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas, Death Index, 1903-2000 (index) - FamilySearch
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Original Death Records on Microfilm
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Societies and Libraries
Red River County Public Library
307 N Walnut St
Clarksville, TX 75426
Phone: (903) 427-3991
Red River County, TX Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 516
Clarksville, TX 75426-2720
- Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Red River County Archives ~ USGenWeb Archives Project
- Red River County ~ TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- USGenWeb Texas Archives Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Red River County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ HistoricTexas.net: Red River County http://www3.historictexas.net/red-river-county-texas
- ↑ Handbook of Texas Online: Red River County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcr05
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2016, at 19:35.
- This page has been accessed 18,829 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News