Redhill, Hampshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Redhill, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Bosmere; Havant Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Havant PLU|
|Parish registers: 1841|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1851|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
REDHILL, an ecclesiastical district, in the union of Havant, Fareham and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 2½ miles (N. by E.) from Havant. The church is dedicated to St. John the Baptist..
REDHILL, a chapelry in Havant and Warblington parishes, Hants; on Langston harbour, at the bridge to Hayling island, 2 miles E by S of Havant r. station. It was constituted in 1840; and its post town is Havant..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Redhill, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|REDHILL PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288795.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 15:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,902 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News