Redmarshall, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Redmarshall, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Redmarshall, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Redmarshall, Durham
Redmarshall St Cuthbert Co Durham.jpg
Redmarshall St Cuthbert Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1770
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RED-MARSHALL (St. Cuthbert), a parish, partly in the union of Stockton, and partly in that of Sedgefield, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham. [1]

Additional information: Redmarshall St Cuthbert is an Ancient Parish in the county of Durham. Stillington, Durham and Carlton, Durham are chapelries in Redmarshall. "The Church, an ancient stone structure, dedicated to St. Cuthbert, consists of nave with small southern porch, chancel with south transept or "Claxton Porch," and a fine massive western tower. The more ancient portions appear to date from the Norman period, the Claxton Porch being added in the fourteenth century as a chantry. The very interesting sedilia on the south side of the chancel and the large arch on the north appear also of this date. The Claxton porch contains two remarkable figures in alabaster, representing Thomas Langton of Wynyard, 1417, and Sybil his wife. The work is of high character, but both figures are much defaced." [From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/209 Date: 1770-1854  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Family Search Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1574-1977 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Pi).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Redmarshall on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 March 2015, at 14:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,192 times.