Revelstoke, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Revelstoke, Devon)

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Revelstoke, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Revelstoke, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plympton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plympton St Mary PLU
Registration District Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1649; For more records see Yealmpton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

REVELSTOKE, a parish, in the union of Plympton St. Mary, hundred of Plympton, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon, 7½ miles (S. by E.) from Earl's-Plympton. The parish is situated on the coast, and bounded on the north and west by the river Yealm.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Revelstoke, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Revelstoke, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

Undefined


Non-Conformist Churches

Plymouth Brethren

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241318.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Revelstoke on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-665. Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 20:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,139 times.